Jimmy John’s Fiasco

22 May

It’s been a year since my gluten free journey began and I’ll be honest – this has been one hellava ride.

It’s not as easy as it seems, going gluten free is more than just eliminating certain foods.  It’s a complete life altering transition.  I’ve read other blogs discuss the excitement in trying new foods.  That might work on some small level but for me; food is social, comfort, and entertaining.

Eating (or the inability to eat) food in social settings has turned my lifestyle upside down.  Exactly what I am I suppose to eat at a professional event? Or when I’m invited to a dinner party with friends?  As much as I would like special treatment, let’s be real the gluten filled foods on the menu are my option – take it or leave it. Not being able to eat in a social setting leaves me feeling like a complete dork.

A few weeks ago, I had a glimmer of hope after ordering the Turkey Unwich (short for a sandwich with no bread) from Jimmy John’s.  I was a little apprehensive during the phone call, as the order taker from Jimmy John’s didn’t seem to understand exactly what I was ordering.  I reassured her that even though it was an odd request, it was a listed item on the menu.

In what seemed like a nanosecond, the Jimmy John’s delivery guy was at my door.  Proudly smiling, the delivery guy handed me a rather heavy package.  Immediately, I knew it was wrong and returned the package to the driver; the smell of the fresh bread was too much for me.  Hey don’t judge me. The smell of warm bread is my weakness. Besides, I never said I didn’t like wheat bread. I called to explain the mix-up and of course I get the order taker who at this point became extremely rude and seemed put off that I even ordered a sandwich without bread; the nerve of me.

It took three delivery attempts to actually get my order right; it was too late I had lost my desire to have the Unwich.  I resorted to a banana and cup of applesauce for lunch. Damnit! Jimmy John’s I knew it was too good to be true.

One Response to “Jimmy John’s Fiasco”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster May 23, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    Seriously? They have an item on the menu and they’re having that much trouble with it? You’d think the second time would be enough to get it right, even if it’s not something that’s ordered often.

    I have a friend back home who’s allergic to gluten. We almost always ended up eating out at P.F. Chang’s because of their (comparatively) extensive gluten-free menu. And as I type this, though it’s 4:30 in the morning? I would really like some P.F. Chang’s. Dagnabit.

Leave a comment